My Running Journey

Cheers to the first post I’ve ever written! This WordPress will be dedicated all things running, health promotion, nutrition, and you may see my Miniature Schnauzer, Lily, once and awhile. I wanted to first share my running journey with you, and where I am now.

I have been a causal runner since I was about 15 years old. I was not on the track or cross country team in high school, because I never felt like I was athletic or competitive enough. Self esteem was something that plagued my high school years, and I’m sure most of you can relate. No, I was the girl that would get home from school, have a snack, and hop on the treadmill to blow off some stress from a long day at school. Soon the treadmill advanced to running around the neighborhood from mailbox to mailbox. Then becoming 3 mile runs without walking breaks. This was all gradual progression, and I ran just because it made me happy. It was also a time to bond with my dad who started running when I did. We would be so proud of ourselves when we would say “Okay, lets try to run all the way to that mailbox at the end of the street.” Our runs were not data driven by any means.

When I went to college, I would on and off again get back into running. Freshman year, I ran once and awhile when I felt like it. I signed up for a 5k to raise money for a local humane society, but decided not to run and just walk with the family dog, Cookie. I was too afraid at that point to even try running outside my comfort zone.cookie

Sophomore year, I met one of my best friends who really gave me a glimpse of the running world. We would run together on our college campus before studying for a big exam, or we would go to a nearby park and try to run under the scorching Florida sun, mid-afternoon. She gave me tricks, showed me websites/apps to track my running route/mileage, and provided undeniable amount of motivation to run with a purpose. Unfortunately, that motivation to run three times a week with a certain amount of mileage to hit ended when a) it became summer and b) my friend moved away to transfer to another college. Junior and Senior year of college, I once again ran only when I felt like it, and didn’t pressure myself to go far. With a group from my college, we registered for the American Heart Association Walk, and I never even tried to run part of it like many did.ry%3D400

In Graduate School, I started to pick up running again as a way to ease my anxiety, and act as a way to relieve stress. It was amazing to me how much running helped my anxiety. Like night and day. I decided in 2014, I was up for the challenge of running a 5K race. What better way to run your first 5k race than at Disney World? So my now soon to be mother-in-law, and I registered for the Disney Princess Frozen 5K in February 2015. After completing the Frozen 5K, from to Health Expo, to running through Epcot, and the beautiful finisher medal I earned, it was then that I got the running bug. How did you begin your running journey?10649779_10153158665158856_6388517012688714879_n

Leave a Reply

