Review: Chariots of Fire

Chariots of Fire (1981), is the first film about running I have ever seen. I cannot understand why it took me up until this week to finally see it. Everyone knows the classic scene when the men are training on the beach and the music is playing in the background. It is an epic scene. If you are a runner, or just enjoy good feel sports films, I would definitely recommend this to you.

For those of you that haven’t seen the film yet, it is about Harold Abraham, and Eric Liddell making it to the 1924 Olympics in Paris, France. Throughout the film, I thought the story of how Abraham trained and got to the Olympics was most interesting. For example, when he started college at the University of Cambridge he signed up for college dash challenge or so called the Trinity Great Court Run. No one in the history of the college successfully completed it until Abraham. Also, after the film I had to do a bit of research as to why people were not in favor of Abrham’s coach Mussabini. Doesn’t every great athlete in the Olympics have a coach? Well I guess not back in the 1920s when they had a preference of amateurs. No one back then hired professional coaches to improve their skill. I don’t want to spoil anything for those of you that haven’t seen the film yet, but all in all it was fantastic and will make you very excited for the Olympics coming up this summer.

Next, I would like to watch Marathon Man with Dustin Hoffman in it. When I have the time, I will try to make it happen. Do you have any films about running suggestions?

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I suggest McFarland. It’s kind of recent. It just makes me want to run. I think I am the Danny Diaz in that movie. haha

    Like

    1. Haha! I forgot about that movie..I believe it’s a Disney film? Okay, I will rent that one for sure then sometime soon. Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So... says:

    One of my favorite movies!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

