Bolt Run Race Bib PickUp

This afternoon my fiancé picked up our race bibs for the upcoming 15th annual Bolt Run this weekend. Yay! If any of you are hockey fans, you probably have heard of the Tampa Bay Lightning team, and this is the 5k/5 miler they host. My fiancé and I are doing the 5k Saturday morning together. He is not a runner like I am, but he is a big time Tampa Bay Lightning fan. It was very sweet of him to be willing to run with me in this race. I’m use to doing races on my own. But I told him, we can stop for walking breaks if we need to. I’m just looking to get out there and have some fun!

image

The course of the Bolt Run is from the Amalie Arena (where the Lightning team play hockey) to Bayshore Blvd. I believe it has been noted as the longest continuous sidewalk in the U.S. Here is a photo of Bayshore Blvd (this photo is from when I ran Gasparilla-practically the same course):

image

The Bolt Run is pretty unique in that if you register for the race, you are also eligible to get free hockey tickets for Saturday night’s game. Saturday night’s game is Tampa Bay Lightning versus the Florida Panthers, and my fiancé made sure we got tickets to the hockey game. The seats are nose-bleed but that’s okay. 😀 In our race packet we got a nice Lightning visor, a dri-fit shirt, and some flyers for other races. The shirt is a bit big, but I will still wear it. I hide my race bib number, because through runDisney I learned all about liars, cheats, and thieves. Yes, I’m talking about those runners that run races with fake bibs, and then they get a free finisher medal.

image

Leave a Reply

