Running on the Beach

Since I am currently looking for employment, I used this free time opportunity to visit my grandparents in Naples, Florida before they go back home to Maine. Naples is about a 2 1/2 hour drive from Tampa and I have been trying to visit my grandparents as much as I can this year. They are snowbirds as you might have guessed. Earlier this year, in January, my grandfather suffered from an aneurysm, and was hospitalized. It gave the family quite a scare, and my grandmother is now his caregiver. He is doing much better but not back to normal, and as any caregiver knows it’s a lot of stress/hard work caring for a loved one. So I thought I would go there and help where I can.

One of the highlights of the trip was running to the beach every morning! My grandparents have a condo about 1 1/4 mile away from the beach. I left the condo at 7-7:30ish in the morning to do a 3.5 mile run. Boy was it humid outside! I’m talking about 90% humidity outside. Anyway, I ran past retirement communities, piers with huge boats, hotels along the beaches, and an Asian restaurant. It was nice to see so many people out and about running in the morning. I seriously got so excited when I saw a few older adults running to the beach along side with me. Those people are role models! At home, it is usually just me running on the sidewalk and once and awhile seeing another fellow young runner. This was one photo of my view for the runs to the beach in Naples: image

I tried running about 1 mile each day on the beach once I ran there, and let me tell you if you haven’t tried this already: it is no cake walk. On Tuesday, it was high tide so I had to run on the powdery sand to try and evade salt water soaking my shoes. It happened whether I wanted it to or not. So I had salt water soaked Brooks running shoes. It was worth the experience, right? imageOn Wednesday, I left the condo a little later, and the tide was lower than the day before so I was able to run on the compact sand. This helped tremendously with my speed, as if I was running on concrete. Usually I’ll run a 9:30 pace for a 5k, but on the powdery sand on Tuesday, I ran an 11 minute mile. It was so tough! I was shocked how slow I was going. Has anyone else experienced that? Of course, once I was back on the sidewalk to go home, I was fine.

Tuesday Beach Running:

My shin was kind of bothering me on Wednesday, but I thought, ‘hey, I can’t run to the beach everyday, so let’s make today count!’ I’m glad I went. When in doubt of a run, I do it! Unless of course, I have a bad injury, sick, or something else?! All in all, it was a ton of fun!

Wednesday Beach Running:

Tell me about you experience running on the beach! 😀😀

6 Comments Add yours

  1. janerunswild says:

    I love Naples (and have visited my grandparents down there many times!)- there are many great places to run and lots of sidewalks. Love running around Venetian Bay or the beach (Barefoot Beach is my fave)! So many pretty views and boats to look at- contrast to a New England winter! Have fun!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! What stellar views! Love me some beach running!! My favorite beach run I’d have to say was in Hawaii 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. those are some beautiful beach pictures! i have never personally run on the beach but i hear its a much harder workout than running on cement. so glad you took the opportunity while you were there and tampa has some beautiful beaches…well compared to galveston lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. bjscheirer says:

    I haven’t had much experience running on the beach, even when I lived on the east coast. I really enjoy driving on the beaches (Daytona was the first one I drove on, but I wouldn’t do it again). After reading your post, I may attempt this when my ankles get strong enough.

    On a side note, while I’ve never had the feeling of Sea Salt soaked shoes, there is something about running in the rain and having soggy feet. I love it, yet can’t wait to get done with it.

    Happy Running.

    Like

  5. It’s hard running on the beach. I usually just do quick little sprints in barefeet when we go out to enjoy the beach for the day. Short and sweet. I can’t imagine running a mile on the beach. That’s hard work!

    Like

  6. vjerome09 says:

    I don’t usually run on the sand. I’ve tried once and it was a bit much for me as I am a fairly new runner. I must say though running by the beach is amazing experience. It’s a different. I live by the beach and run 3-4 times a weeks there. I love seeing other runners, people are always happy and smiling. I love it!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

