Top 5 Tuesday: First Time Race tips for New Runners

Happy Tuesday! I am writing this post from the airport currently, on my way to visit my family in Raleigh, North Carolina. Today’s topic will be focused on tips I learned along the way running races that will help new runners racing experience. This list will help for any race you are registered for: 5k, 10k, half marathon, whatever. πŸ™‚ Β If you are reading this, and you have any other tips for new runners about racing I didn’t mention, please comment below. I would love to hear from everyone!

12745409_10154003668488856_2891807442268591353_n

First Time Race Tips for Beginners:

  1. Do not, I repeat, Do NOT try anything new one race day. Many of you have probably heard this a million times but I learned the hard way. I always thought when other runners said that they exclusively meant what you eat: before or during a race. Nope, it means clothes too! That is why so many seasoned runners that you see do not wear the race shirt that comes in your race packet. It’s something new! You just never know how the fabric will affect your skin. I wore new shorts to Gasparilla without thinking, and I had so much chaffing from them.
  2. Make sure you do your bathroom #2 business the day before the race. Or close to the race. I don’t want to go further than this lol.
  3. Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate! I’m talking about the day before the running, the morning before the race, and after the race.
  4. If you can, pick up your race packet with your bib before race morning. It will save you a lot of headache and time when your pre race jitters are in effect.
  5. Get to the race early! Parking is usually a nightmare, and you want to relax before the race. Not the mention last minute bathroom breaks.

All in all, come into your race weekend with a plan! Figure out what time you will get there the morning of, what you are eating the morning of, test out your race fuel, look at the race course, what your plan of action will be at the water stations, and so on. It will make the experience much more enjoyable. Have fun!!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Great tips for people running their first race. Also, if you’re running a race in a new city, don’t be too tempted to explore on foot too much the day before the race. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. kylabee says:

    Another tip I would suggest is eat the same thing you normally would the night before a race. And if you are in a new city stick with something simple and don’t order something with a lot of sauces or spices that are unknown to you.
    Good tips!

    Like

  3. great tips! i would add if you are with someone decide on a meeting place before the race starts. the last thing you want to do is get caught up in the moment, want to celebrate with your person but have no clue where to meet them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is coming right on time as I am getting ready to run my first 5k πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. Great tips! Nothing worse than having a code brown at mile 10 of a half.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Great tips! As a new runner I am learning things the hard way. Like not wearing something new the day of the race. If I would have read this blog before the princess run I would have known πŸ™‚ Keep up the great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

