Race Crew at the RocknRoll Marathon

This Sunday morning in Raleigh, North Carolina, my mother, sister, and I were part of the race crew for the RocknRoll Marathon Series in Downtown Raleigh. I’ve never run a RocknRoll race event so this was all new to me. In March, I was on the fence about registering for the RocknRoll half marathon, but due to money and my next half marathon a week away I decided not this year. Volunteering was the way to go!

Our volunteer shift was from 5AM-9AM this morning. We had to wake up at 4AM to get ready and drive all the way to Downtown Raleigh. It was extremely cold to be outside for 4 hours. I am talking about 30 degrees cold, windy, and no sun during half our shift. I was shivering at one point while waiting for the runners to come to the finish line.

When we checked in at the volunteer tent, the volunteer coordinators had coffee, hot chocolate, and bagels ready for us. We also were given cool Race Crew shirts, and a blue drawstring bag.

image

The volunteer job we were delegated to do this morning was take out 5,000 of the Heat Sheets from dozens of boxes, lay it on the corrals, and hand them to finishers. Us girls opened about 1,200 Heat Sheets alone. We did the math. Lol. It was so nice to be able to see the winners and finishers of the race as we cheered them on, and wrapped them in Heat Sheets. The runners seemed so thankful for the warmth the Heat Sheets provided after their race. One runner is exclaimed ‘Now, we are talking!,’ when she saw us with the Heat Sheets. I am so glad my family and I got to volunteer this morning at such a nicely organized, and fun race. But I will say, I’m glad it’s over and I am wrapped in a blanket on the couch.

Leave a Reply

