Running in Raleigh, NC

For 10 days, as some of you know, I was in Raleigh, North Carolina visiting my parents/sister. I love running around their neighborhood because they have 2 different nice 1-mile loops. The route was a bit hilly for this Floridian, but it’s all good for training. The weather was typically in the 40s-50s when I ran which is way better than the 80 degree temperate I usually run in Florida- not to mention the humidity. Oh goodness, I did not miss the humidity. I ran three times a week while in Raleigh and I made sure I was tapering off for my upcoming Star Wars Half Marathon on Sunday.

Real Question to my Fellow Runners: Does it count as a personal record if it was in training? Or must a PR only count if it’s a race?

I think my speed work is really paying off because on one of my short easy runs in Raleigh my pace was on fire. (For me. Lol. You know it’s all relative). I ran a 8.48 pace. I’ve never ran 3 miles so fast in my life. On Saturday, last week, while in Raleigh, I ran 7 miles with a decent pace as well. I had to screen shot my MapMyRun to show my friend I ran the 7 miles on Saturday we both were suppose to do. It was my last longer run before the Star Wars half marathon.Below is my image

I also got to explore on Thursday the local park by my parents home. It was magnificent! It was so great to have a change of pace to my running in Raleigh. Didn’t realize there was a beautiful lake so close by to where we parked. I will definitely be going back there! Here are some photos of my view. Soon to come is my race recap for the Star Wars Half Marathon that was yesterday.

I just want to shout out to all the Boston Marathoners out there today: Congratulations!! ๐Ÿ™‚

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh what gorgeous views! Have a great day!

    Like

  2. kristinegift says:

    “Does it count as a personal record if it was in training? Or must a PR only count if itโ€™s a race?” –> Totally counts! I never race less than a 5k, so my mile PR is from a timed mile in training during a speed session.

    Raleigh running looks gorgeous, btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. a PR is a PR no matter where it happened! i prefer mine to be during a race because then there is an official record of it and a medal but my fastest mile was during a training run and i will never not count that bad ass time! cant wait to hear about the star wars half! I had a friend who ran it, im interested to hear about the course ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

