Star Wars Half Marathon: The Dark Side Recap

Ah! The Star Wars Half Marathon weekend has come and gone, much to my dismay. 😟😟😟 I have been procrastinating writing this post because I want to give the race weekend recap post justice. I finished my running costume the Friday morning before the half marathon. I don’t know how to sew, and needed my mum to help me with my ideas. She sewed me a cape attached to my Star Wars tank. I think it turned out great. Here is the back (oh and the little cutie with me is Lulu):image.jpeg

Day 1: My fiancé and I made our way to Orlando on Saturday for the Health Expo. I didn’t have any rundisney merchandise I was planning on buying, so I didn’t mind that we got to the Health Expo the last day. We got there around noon, and the expo was so busy! I quickly got my race bib and packet, and bolted out. I didn’t want to be tempted by speciality tshirt shirts, foam rollers, and sparkle athletic items. I am thankful alone for doing the race.

After the expo, we met up with our friends and went to Disney Springs to eat (formerly known as Downtown Disney). I wanted my last big meal of the day to be around 3pm, so I had plenty of time to digest my food before the half marathon the next morning. I had the most amazing mushroom pizza at the Italian restaurant there. That is what I call carb loading! The rest of Saturday was less than eventful. I took a shower, set out running clothes for the morning, drank a ton of water, and went to bed at 7:30PM. Usually for runDisney events I wake up around 3:30AM, and leave the hotel at 4AM. My friend however was anxious to leave earlier, so I knew I had a 2:30AM wake up call.imageDay 2: My friend, her boyfriend, my fiancé and I left the hotel at 3:10AM. Even though I went to bed at 7:30PM the night before, I felt exhausted. Throughout the night, I had to keep going to the bathroom because I drank so much water.  I don’t know if that is normal for other runners the night before a race? Anyway, we got to the Epcot Wonder parking lot very early as you can imagine. (The half marathon didn’t start until 5AM). I will say, it gave me enough time to eat half a bagel, and use the port-a-potty one last time before the race. I definitely had race jitters! More so than when I ran my first half marathon. I’ve never run with a friend at a race, and I was nervous I was going to slow her down. Looking back on it now, it wasn’t logical what I was thinking before the race lol. She is my friend, she wouldn’t have cared. We had a bit of a walk to our corral, and waited for a half hour for the race to start. We were in corral G, so we were not able to go when the first set of fireworks went off. One of the things I really like about the Disney races is even though some corrals (particularly in the back) have to wait a long time to start running, Disney always has fireworks for every corral start. While waiting for our corrals turn, we had entertainment from Disney speakers, and a sneak peak at the new Star Wars movie. imageThe half marathon went through Epcot first, then the Boardwalk, then Hollywood Studios, then around Animal Kingdom and finally ending at the ESPN Wide World of Sports. Everything in between was major roads to get to Disney. Seeing everyone’s Star Wars themed running costumes was very nice to see. I think it absolutely made the race- everyone’s enthusiasm and creativity for all things Star Wars. There were mile markers throughout the races that featured different Star Wars characters, and some course entertainment. Disney had jumbo screens set up along the course, and they showed 20 second clips of various Star Wars movies. They also had cosplay volunteers dressed up, and official Disney Star Wars characters around. I even saw Darth Vader’s chair. My friend and I decided that we would only stop once or twice at the race for character stops. There were shorter lines for the cosplay volunteers, so we opted to stop and take photos with them. In my opinion, their costumes were just as good as Disney’s official Star Wars. We had photos taken with Boba Fett, Darth Vader, and Storm Troopers.

 

Besides character stops, we stopped a couple of times to use the restroom, and to eat our GU. I have not quite mastered eating GU, while running, and not make a complete mess of myself lol. I would have liked to not stop as much, but then I think why would we have rushed this experience? RunDisney races are about fun, course entertainment. There are other races to go as fast as you can, and PR.

The miles went by so fast to me, but I remember that last mile. Oh boy! Mentally it was tough; physically I was fine. Nothing was hurting. I didn’t really study the race course throughly, and I didn’t know exactly where the finish line was. All I knew was that it was at the ESPN Center. We were getting closer and closer to the ESPN Center, and my mind was like ‘okay is the finish line around this corner–nope.’ Suddenly I saw my fiancé, and my friend’s boyfriend on the side lines cheering us on. I high fived my fiancé and that gave me a jolt of energy to the finish line. I felt great crossing the finish line. Like I could do anything I set my mind to. image

Here is a photo of my medal and bib from the Star Wars Half Marathon. I think the Darth Vader medal is so cool, and it’s exciting it’s now part of my medal collection.image

I think my favorite theme park to run through was Hollywood Studios, even more so than the Magic Kingdom (ran through MK in January).  I don’t know, I thought it was the coolest thing ever seeing The Tower of Terror at night. Very creepy looking. This race course was point to point instead of a loop, so I think because of that we were able to go to more parks. One day, I will do the marathon at Disney, where you get to run through all 4 parks throughout the race. I would have liked to see more course entertainment like there is for the Disney Princess, and Walt Disney World Marathon Weekend, instead of seeing those giant TV screens that were showing 20 second clips of Star Wars. But all in all, I thought Disney did a fantastic job hosting this inaugural race. I hope you liked this race recap! 😀 It is now the end of my race season, since it’s too hot in Florida. I’m sad it’s over, but feel so lucky my racing season ended with such a bang. Hope someone out there enjoyed this post 😀

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Such a fun race!! I need to RunDisney one of these days!

    Like

  2. What a great time! And you take fabulous race pictures!!

    Like

  3. I ran the 5k the day before! It was my first Disney race. It was a lot of fun! We just ran around, and through Epcot. I loved the music, and the movie screen at the end of our race where they were going to blow up the Death Star in Return of the Jedi. I am still working on my article, and hopefully will have it posted tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will keep an eye out on your 5K race recap! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks so much! It will be on my Rhode Runner site – https://therhoderunnerjourney.wordpress.com/

        I can’t remember if I told you, but I am running a 5k and raising money for a charity in each of the 50 states. I raised extra money for Noah’s Light Foundation for this Disney race.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ishouldrun says:

    I did enjoy your post! 🙂 I’m running the race this April and I wanted to see how they did it. Now I want some Star Wars gear to run in!

    Like

Leave a Reply

