Top 5 Tuesday: Beat the Heat for New Runners

This Top 5 Tuesday is inspired by my local Fit2Run running speciality store training program they offer. I know it’s not summer yet, but I wanted to go ahead and share my summer running tips to beat the heat. Summers in Florida and in the South, in general, are intense. It can be very difficult running more than 4 miles outside when it’s 95 degrees. I think the worst part is the humidity though. I wanted to give some tips for new runners to survive summer runs/physical activity. All of the tips have been my own trial and error, but this is what I like to do.

Top 5 Beat the Heat for New Runners

  1. Do not run between 10AM-2PM. This is when the sun rays are the strongest, and it’s the most dangerous time to run in the summer. You don’t want to collapse from heat exhaustion. My recommendation is to start running earlier than 7AM or later than 7PM. At least in Florida, I notice the heat is more bearable during these times.
  2. Take water with you on runs. In the summer, it doesn’t matter how many miles I plan on running that day. I take my water with me every where. I want to be safe in the heat, always. Consider investing in a fuel belt.
  3. Drink electrolytes afterwards. Buy Powerade, Gatorade, Coconut Water, Nuun, etc. Whatever suits your fancy. Just make sure you drink some electrolytes after your runs. In the summer, since you sweat more, you need to drink more liquids. (No brainer, I know). This will help you stay hydrated, and prevent headaches!
  4. Sun protection. Don’t get sunburns! Protect your skin on your runs. I like the put on a baseball cap, sunglasses, and spray on sunscreen before my runs. I will get sun burns on my scalp if I don’t wear a hat, so I really try to stick to that rule. Also, I find the sunscreen spray quicker and easier to put on before my runs. No excuses!
  5. Cross Training. Incorporate more yoga, Pilates, or gym time this summer to beat the heat. I prefer yoga or Pilates videos on YouTube, like Cassey Ho’s Blogilates. But if you like the gym better, go on the treadmill, swim, or bike. Whatever you want. Just stay active!

How is do you beat the heat to run?

2 Comments Add yours

  1. More often than not the heat beats me, especially with races like this weekend, when it’s a sudden heatwave. There really isn’t a whole lot you can do about it.

    So I spent a lot of time grabbing 2 cups at water stations and pouring water over my head, my wrists, my neck — it helps a little.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amy says:

    I have a cooling towel that I like to use when I’m finished my run. I think I bought it in the golf section of Dick’s Sporting Goods. It feels awesome after a hot and humid run.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

