Running in Maine

Over the weekend, my fiancé and I went to Cape Elizabeth, Maine to celebrate my grandparent’s 60th anniversary with my family. We stayed at this wonderful hotel called the Inn by the Sea. I cannot recommend it enough if you are ever traveling to the Portland area. One of the many reasons why I fell in love with this hotel is that they foster dogs in the hotel lobby who need adopting. Just when I was there, a young puppy named Sophie was adopted, and then another dog named Sandy came to be fostered at the Inn by the Sea. I volunteered every day that I was staying there to walk the dogs for them to have some nice fresh air.

Now that we discussed the pups, let’s talk about running in Maine! From the Inn by the Sea, there was a nice walkway to the Crescent Bay Beach in Maine. It is a secluded area that is only maintained during the late spring and summer. Just the walkway to the beach itself was beyond gorgeous. See for yourself below!imageI was only in Maine for a short period, so I only got in one run, but it was glorious. On Saturday, I had an early wake up at 6:15AM, and by 6:30AM, my dad and I were out the door. Upon waking up that morning, I had no idea my dad wanted to come with me to the beach and go walking. I was beyond ecstatic though! It reminded me of the times I was younger and lived with my parents. Every night, my dad and I would run/walk 3 miles after dinner. Those are some of my favorite memories with my father. Although now, he cannot run due to plantar fasciitis, I always believe it’s a blessing every time I can walk with him. This is one of those memories I will cherish forever.image

For anyone living up north, you know it gets light outside in the morning around 5:15AM-ish this time of year. I’ll tell you, coming from Florida, I was pleasantly surprised by this fact. I hate running in the dark, and try to avoid it as much as possible. I usually run alone, and I just don’t feel safe in the dark. My biggest fear is an alligator or snake on the sidewalk in the dark, but cars, and some people are dangers as well.

The run on Crescent Bay Beach was wonderful! I couldn’t have asked for better weather. I believe it was in the upper 50s, which is ideal. I’ve mentioned this before, but running on the beach is hard stuff. I was going 11 minutes per mile, which is not my usual pace. That is okay. I was there for the experience. The site was breathtaking. There is something about the state of Maine that smells spectacular. The air just smells clean, and woodsy. It’s not like anything I’ve smelled before. I kept thinking, these are the moments we all live for.  This beach; my dad; this run; this family reunion; this weekend; this moment in time.

The beach spread out to about one mile. I did a 5K that morning, and my dad walked about a mile and a half. He found some sea glass as well on his walk, which was pretty cool. I would love someday to go back to the Inn by the Sea. Overall, it was a fantastic weekend with my fiancé, parents, sister, cousin, aunt, uncle, and grandparents. ❤️image

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Rauni Kew says:

    Thank you for writing this lovely story- we are thrilled you enjoyed your visit to Inn by the Sea. The dog program is also loved by the staff here- you’ll be happy to know both Sophie and Sandy were adopted- we now have an adorable 6 month old puppy in house- Banjo- she’s sweet and full of puppy energy! You can keep up with our foster dogs on our facebook page. Please return soon- warm wishes Rauni Kew Inn by the Sea

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Wish I could say my runs in ME were great. Very hot, grumble, grumble.

    I do love running on the beach! I didn’t have the opportunity this time, of course. But hopefully later in the year (much, much later), I might.

    The Inn sounds very cool. Although I imagine they don’t actually allow you to take your own dogs there! And we were traveling with Lola.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. They are actually a dog friendly hotel! I saw a ton of guests with their dogs over the weekend. Dogs are even allowed at the bar inside where people sit back and relax. Very clean place, and plenty of outdoor space for dogs to run around. Seriously, a wonderful inn.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Somehow I doubt it would have been in our price range, unfortunately. It does look lovely.

        Like

  3. Amy says:

    Beautiful area! I love to travel to other parts of the country even if it is only via a blog post! The dog fostering program is wonderful and it’s awesome you got to spend some time with those precious furry friends when you were there.

    Like

  4. bjscheirer says:

    Very Nice. While it is great that the sun comes up so early in the summer (and goes down late), it is quite the opposite in the winter. I have really enjoyed the extra time of day the last two months have provided.

    Great to hear about your travels.

    Like

Leave a Reply

