A Change of Pace

Well, it’s now the weekend! The last weekend before I start my new job as a Health Educator (happy dancing😀).  I’m very excited for this opportunity to jump start my career in public health. I worked very hard in grad school, and I am so thrilled I’ll be using my degree!

I have a feeling this upcoming month, my family and I will be trying to get use to my new work schedule. My fiancé already knows he is going to have to lend a hand more often in the kitchen, and cleaning the house. I’ll be leaving my house for work around 6:30AM every morning, and do not expect to be home until around 6 or 6:30PM.  Definitely a full day!

The burning question I have for myself is: How am I going to fit running in?

(Blogging, I’ll do on the weekend, so no worries! I’m not going away).

In Graduate School and holding a part time job, I ran on average two times a week. (I though running twice a week was good enough! Ha. Clearly I hadn’t run my first half marathon yet lol). I usually could get in a long run on Saturday morning, but it was during the week days I struggled. After coming home from my job or internships, I would have to cook dinner, clean, be too tired, etc. At the time, I was still new to running, and I had no idea what I was doing with ‘training’. That was half the problem. The other half was having many excuses not to run after work.

Since Graduation in December however, I’ve been job hunting. This means I’ve been able to run whenever my heart desires. I have been spoiled with the time I could spend running each morning. I’ve gotten much faster, and I’ve been really pleased with my progress. I don’t want to fall in the same pattern of not finding enough time to run during week days. I have some big plans next race season for a few half marathons, and I can’t be slacking off. I love Running!

I need advice from my fellow working runners! How do you fit running in your schedule? I would love to hear any tips you have. 👍

5 Comments Add yours

  1. bjscheirer says:

    I know what you are talking about. I work 12 hour shifts myself, but my commute is a grand total of 5 minutes (a full half hour when I’m walking, but I walk slow). I also have three kids at home, which adds to the difficulty.

    One thing you have going for you that I don’t is that you are an early riser. Focus less about the distance of the run and more on the intensity. Also, if you are lucky enough to have a shower at your place of work, you may be able to combine your running with your commute. Leave a little early, drive to a place you can park the car for the day, run the rest of the way. You will, of course, then need to run back to your car at the end of the day.

    Good luck with the new job!

    Like

  2. I wish I could help, but I no longer work.

    I can tell you as ugly as it sounds, it’s more likely to get done if you do it in the morning.

    Like

  3. Sarah says:

    I commute 50 minutes each way to work so I am gone from home at least 10 1/2 hrs a day. My advice is to set a routine, whether it’s in the mornings or after work you have to get in a schedule of what days you are going to run and stick with it. Mon and Wednesday and Saturdays have typically been my running days for the 4 years. Make up a calendar if you have to but you have to decide if running is a priority and if it is you have to make the time to do it. I also have resources at work that I just change and run after work before driving home which means less distractions. Hope that helps. Let me know if you want more details 🙂

    Like

  4. i leave for work at 7am so I have a little more time in the morning than you but i get up at 5am on run days to get my runs in. sometimes i can take a longer lunch break and do them then but i dont think you will have the same option. whenever i start a new job my running always takes a back seat though while i try and figure out my life lol. good luck with the new job thats awesome you are putting your degree to work!!!

    Like

  5. stokesh says:

    Congratulations on your new job! When I first started working I had a crazy commute and was normally out of the house for around 12/13 hours a day. I learnt two things in this time.
    1. Plan all your runs in your diary- once they are in, they are harder to ignore
    2. DO NOT, I repeat DO NOT sit down when you get home. Get in, get changed and get out the door… I find if I come in tired and sit down on the sofa, it is game over, I am not moving until bedtime.

    Hope that was even vaguely helpful. Good luck with your job and remember to be kind to yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

