Top 5 Tuesday: Top 5 Running Excuses

imageToday’s Top 5 Tuesday topic will be one that I struggled with last week. I started a new job last Monday, and have been having trouble juggling my running with other things I need to do when I get home from work. I ran twice last week- so at least I’m trying to make it work. Anyway, today’s topic is the top 5 excuses you tell yourself not to run today. I am guilty of all of these! The common factor with most of these excuses I have listed below is about time. Not enough of it! What excuses do you tell yourself?

 

Top 5 excuses you tell yourself not to run
The Task Excuses- Telling yourself oh I need to do this, this, and this, before I can even think of running today. What makes it even worse is trying to make a list of other tasks you need to do while you are in the car on your way home from work.
The Conditions Excuses- ‘It’s too hot/cold outside!’ ‘It’s raining!’ ‘It’s getting dark outside-shouldn’t run in the dark with no one around!’ Whatever you are telling yourself now, get past it. You can’t choose the weather during your races, so why should you during training?
The Logical Excuses- I haven’t drank enough water today. There is no way that’s healthy for me to try to run without properly hydrating before hand. (You can tell yourself this even if you have in fact ‘ you’ve had enough water throughout the day’)
The Feeling Excuses- ‘I feel sick with a headache/stomache/insert other illnesses in here’
The Everyone else but Me excuses- The thought that for other people, you need to cook/clean/do laundry/ and do other acts of kindness towards others, that there is no time for you. How can you take care of others when you don’t even care for yourself? This isn’t good, and I’m sure your loved ones will understand that for you to be the best version of you, you need to do what you love most-running (in this case).

One Comment Add yours

  1. Amy says:

    I love this because it is so true! I have been in a running funk lately and have pretty much used all of these excuses! Thanks for sharing. ~Amy

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

