Rio 2016: Men’s Olympic Marathon

image

Good morning everyone! Right now I am watching the coverage of the men’s Olympic marathon in Rio. Today is the last day of the Olympics 😦 The two men I will be keeping a close eye on is Galen Rupp, and Meb Keflezighi. Go USA Team!!!

Galen Was completely the dark horse from the Olympic Trials, so it is exciting seeing him today. I think he has a great shot at winning this Marathon. He has been in the front most of the time during this race.

Galen Rupp
Galen Rupp reacts after crossing the finish line to win U.S. Olympic Team Marathon Trials, Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016, in Los Angeles. The 29-year-old Rupp completed his marathon debut in 2 hours, 11 minutes, 10 seconds, earning a berth to the Rio Games. (AP Photo/Kelvin Kuo)

1 hour and 18 minutes into the marathon, Meb is starting to lose his pace. He was in the front of the pack and now reaching the middle of the pack. Meb is so talented so I am confident he will bounce back. I was fortunate enough to meet Meb at the Gasparilla Distance Classic. I had just ran the 15K race, and I saw him at the finish line. For some reason, no one there knew who he was, so I asked if I could take a picture with him. This was one week after the Olympics Trials so I also congratulated him. Such a nice man! imageI hope everyone is enjoying their Sunday morning watching the Olympics 🙂

Leave a Reply

