Krispy Kreme Challenge: Race Recap

How to make running unhealthy? Well…Over the weekend, I ran the Krispy Kreme Challenge in North Carolina with my sister. This year was the 13th annual Krispy Kreme Challenge. We ran the race last year as well, but it was when I was still living in Florida I came for a visit. You can register as a Challenger or Casual Runner, and the proceed go to the UNC Children’s Hospital. The Challenger goals are to run 5 miles, 12 donuts, 1 hour. If you are a Casual Runner you don’t have to eat all 12 donuts.

For those of you that have never heard of the race, let me give you a little back story. Years ago, a college student DARED another college student at North Carolina State University to run from the Bell Tower to the Krispy Kreme donut shop, eat a dozen donuts, and run back. The NCSTATE student completed the dare, and so the Krispy Kreme Challenge was incepted. The Krispy Kreme donut shop is 2.5 miles from the Bell Tower (where the race starts), you get 12 donuts once you get to the Krispy Kreme, and then you run back the 2.5 miles.

img_0170

Okay, so now that you have the back story, let’s go back to this Friday. On Friday, during lunch and between meetings at work, my sister picked me up at NCSTATE (where I work), and we went to the Tally Student Union to head to the expo. I’m just going to tell you straight up: it was bad. If you even want to call it an expo. The lines to get your race bib were right at the front door, so it was extremely difficult for people to get into the expo. The signs for what line to get into were also not visible and there was no one to assist. I just asked the person next to me how they knew what line to be in. I will say, there was decent signage to get to the ballroom at the Tally Student Union.

img_0203

After we got our race bibs, we waited in line for our race shirts. Man. The shirt is just blah. White shirt with stick figures. Nothing special. You can see the photo above. This race is student run, mind you. So maybe that’s why the organization was lacking. I don’t know. But last year’s expo was so much better. There were like 2 vendors this year. Last year Fleet Feet was at the expo and I didn’t understand why they weren’t going to be there this year. Now I understand.

On a positive note, the race experience was awesome on Saturday with my sister! The temperature outside was in the high 20s to low 30s. A bit brisk outside,but manageable. People were dressed up just like the runDisney events. We saw people dressed up in donut attire, Star Wars, wearing onesies, ninja turtles, fruit, superheroes, pack man, Wizard of Oz, Harry Potter, unicorns and more. I mean there was two guys in Krispy Kreme employee uniforms holding a giant Krispy 6 feet Kreme Coffee Cup. The atmosphere was reminiscent of runDisney events. High energy and encouragement from other runners!

Hayley and I had a donut running skirt from Sparkle Athletic on. We did run walk interval for the 5 miles. We ran 2.5 miles, stopped and had one donut once we got to Krispy Kreme, and then ran back 2.5 miles to NCSTATE. Best fresh donuts ever. Hayley made a personal record during this race! I’m so proud of her!! We went about 15-20 minutes faster than last year. The race doesn’t come with medals at the finish line for some reason, so I purchased one for $6. I don’t know how I feel about paying for a medal up front like that, but I loved the design of the medal this year with donuts and the bell tower. RunDisney and the Krispy Kreme Challenge are races I feel I’ve earned after all the training runs. They are just so much fun. It’s not about time with there races, it’s just about being out there with the running community. Overall, the Krispy Kreme Challenge was a great race, and I had a ton of fun with my sister!

img_0183

One Comment Add yours

  1. that sounds like a BLAST! I would never be able to eat all those donuts and run – LOL!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

